itSMF UK e-Symposium - Service Strategy - 18 June 2009

in

Banner
The June 2009 online itSMF UK e-Symposium will be taking place on June 18th between 15:00-17:00 (2pm - 4:00pm BST) online at http://itsmf.brighttalk.com (you will need to register separately for this Free event).
 

Service Strategy
You wouldn't undertake even the most menial project without having a clearly understood strategy and a plan to reach the desired goal. Service Management is no different. A critical success factor for producing business value from Service Management, is first having clearly articulated reasons for all of the investment and effort related to Service Management. During this e-symposium, we'll explore the elements that need to go into an effective Service Strategy from value identification to risk mitigation and how this can be applied to drive success for your organization.

Confirm Attendance

Sponsor Logo
Visit Sponsor Booth Visit sponsor booth

Program

18 Jun '09 - 9:00am New York / 2:00pm London / 9:00pm Singapore
Welcome by Moderator

To view the "Service Strategy" programme line up for the live day you must first REGISTER for the event or LOG IN to the events site. To register for the event, please click on the 'Confirm attendance' button.

logo

Mike Simons
Mike Simons
Editor
ComputerWorld UK

18 Jun '09 - 9:05am New York / 2:05pm London / 9:05pm Singapore
Service Strategy - Fundamental to Service Management

Traditionally, Service Management was viewed as focusing on delivering the applications and the technology that was in place - delivering what was there as well as possible. As Service Management matures, it is at least as important to establish if the right things are being done in the best way. The strategic focus enables, and indeed requires, organisations to start asking fundamental questions - like 'why', and focusing on overall value to the organisation.

Sponsor Logo
Visit Sponsor Booth Visit Sponsor Booth

Ivor MacFarlane
Ivor MacFarlane
Service Management Evangelist
IBM

18 Jun '09 - 9:35am New York / 2:35pm London / 9:35pm Singapore
IT Service Strategy - A Practical Approach to Transforming Your IT Capabilities and Resources Into More Business Value

ITIL V3 and COBIT properly describe Service Strategy as establishing a strategic plan for how IT Services and Service Management will achieve defined objectives and transform your IT capabilities and resources into business value. This presentation will describe some of the key aspects of Service Strategy and a methodical approach for producing a Service Strategy that leverages proven techniques and models. Bill was a member of the OGC's ITIL Advisory Group that oversaw the ITIL V3 project, and was specifically assigned as a mentor to the authors of the ITIL V3 Service Strategy Publication.

Sponsor Logo
Visit Sponsor Booth Visit Sponsor Booth

Bill Powell
Bill Powell
IT Service Management Portfolio Director
IBM

18 Jun '09 - 10:05am New York / 3:05pm London / 10:05pm Singapore
Useful Tips for Small Organisations

Service Strategy contains a wealth of useful concepts, hence it is often difficult for small IT functions to decide which will be useful. With a greater flexibility for change, these organisations are the ones that can benefit the most from the ideas. So where should they start? This presentation will give some useful tips on the elements from Service Strategy that can be easily adopted to help drive improvements, both to IT, the business, and the supporting organisational culture. Practical examples from small IT functions will be used to illustrate concepts such as utility, business outcomes, constraints, and value chains. All of these will be equally useful to any medium and large organisations that are trying to navigate their way through the complexities of Service Strategy.

Kevin Holland
Kevin Holland
Programme Head
Service Management and Delivery Directorate, NHS Connecting for Health

18 Jun '09 - 10:35am New York / 3:35pm London / 10:35pm Singapore
Roundtable Discussion

During the roundtable discussion, these leading experts will debate "Service Strategy'. As with all sessions, you can ask the panel live questions via the event moderator.

logo

Bill Powell
Bill Powell
IT Service Management Portfolio Director
IBM

Ivor MacFarlane
Ivor MacFarlane
Service Management Evangelist
IBM

Kevin Holland
Kevin Holland
Programme Head
Service Management and Delivery Directorate, NHS Connecting for Health