itSMF UK Symposium: The Value of Remote Infrastructure Management

in
23/07/2009 15:00
23/07/2009 17:00
Europe/Belgrade

The Value of Remote Infrastructure Management
 
IT Leaders today face the challenge of providing high-quality services while reducing their IT costs. Using remote services to complement in-house IT staff is one potential solution that is seeing increased market traction. Some estimates indicate that 70% of IT support for infrastructure services can be performed from a remote location. Additionally, many have achieved savings in the range of 10-50%. While this e-symposium will explore cost savings as one of the benefits, presenters will also discuss other benefits organizations can achieve, along with practical advice on how to determine if this approach could make sense for your organization.

5 Recorded Webcasts

Sponsor Logo
Visit Sponsor Booth Visit sponsor booth

Program

23 Jul '09 - 9:00am New York / 2:00pm London / 9:00pm Singapore
Welcome by Moderator

To view "The Value of Remote Infrastructure Management" programme line up for the live day you must first REGISTER for the event or LOG IN to the events site. To register for the event, please click on the 'Confirm attendance' button.

logo

Play Webcast
(00:02:00s)

Download Podcast Download Podcast

James West
James West
Editor
ServiceDesk360.com

23 Jul '09 - 9:05am New York / 2:05pm London / 9:05pm Singapore
Gaining Access to Advanced Management with Remote Management Services

During his session, Dr. Joe Gulla will share the key challenges he's seen associated with managing servers and their related infrastructure, during his 30 years of experience, and how both economic and technical influences are evolving to provide new approaches. He will provide practical advice about how best to leverage innovation to gain access to advanced management capabilities to meet those key challenges. He'll focus on key aspects of service support, service desk, and service delivery as it pertains to remotely-managed systems, and explore how outsourcing and managed services can be effective strategies to drive efficiency and to create business value.

Sponsor Logo
Visit Sponsor Booth Visit Sponsor Booth

Play Webcast
(00:33:00s)

Download Podcast Download PodcastDownload Slides Download Slides

Joseph Gulla, Ph.D
Joseph Gulla, Ph.D
Executive IT Specialist
IBM

23 Jul '09 - 9:35am New York / 2:35pm London / 9:35pm Singapore
Achieving Value from Remote Infrastructure Management Services

John's session will focus on practical considerations for organisations that are looking to potentially make use of remote infrastructure management services. John will share experiences from his 25 years in IT service provision, both as an external service provider and as an advisor to organisations seeking to achieve best value from various forms of outsourcing/selective sourcing arrangement. Ultimately it is the customer that has to decide what aspects of service they want to retain in-house and what might be right to be sourced from external service providers. This requires a clear view of both why they have made those decisions, and how they structure themselves and the service arrangements to ensure success.

logo

Play Webcast
(00:31:00s)

Download Podcast Download PodcastDownload Slides Download Slides

John Windebank
John Windebank
Principal Solution Architect, Global Data Centre Efficiency Practice
Sun Microsystems

23 Jul '09 - 10:05am New York / 3:05pm London / 10:05pm Singapore
Remote Infrastructure Management in Europe- The Hype and the Reality

Global trends indicate that Remote Infrastructure Management (RIM) has been gaining momentum and the pundits have predicted an industry worth $ 63 Bn by 2012. However, particularly in Europe, this hype has met hard reality. RIM services adoption has been slower than expected and the players in the market have had to re-look at their market strategies and undergo a tough cycle of re-invention and innovation. The chief hurdles to the adoption of RIM here in Europe have been the multilingual user landscape, tough European data security requirements, differing RIM cost economics in each country, ‘local provider’ preferences, greater focus on relationship management and longer deal cycles, collaboration issues etc. These challenges have significantly slowed down the progress and pace of RIM adoption. This talk explores these challenges and tries to explain the ways and methods leading Global RIM Service Providers, such as Infosys, are adapting and reinventing their solution and services to the European customer base. Anil Wangoo, Principal Consultant, represents Infosys Technologies limited, a USD 5.5 Billion IT services provider with market-leading RIM offerings and more than 150 customers across the globe. Anil manages the European consulting operations of the Infrastructure management services practice and is based out of London.

logo

Play Webcast
(00:29:00s)

Download Podcast Download PodcastDownload Slides Download Slides

Anil Wangoo
Anil Wangoo
Principal Consultant
Infosys

23 Jul '09 - 10:35am New York / 3:35pm London / 10:35pm Singapore
Roundtable Discussion

During the roundtable discussion, these leading experts will debate "The Value of Remote Infrastructure Management". As with all sessions, you can ask the panel live questions via the event moderator.

logo

Play Webcast
(00:20:00s)

Download Podcast Download Podcast

Anil Wangoo
Anil Wangoo
Principal Consultant
Infosys

John Windebank
John Windebank
Principal Solution Architect, Global Data Centre Efficiency Practice
Sun Microsystems

Joseph Gulla, Ph.D
Joseph Gulla, Ph.D
Executive IT Specialist
IBM